Saturday, March 15, 2008

Tejas LCA - Timeline

The design of a carrier-borne Tejas in single-seat and two-seat versions with a modified nose, strengthened landing gear and an arrestor hook was granted approval in 1999.

The first LCA Demonstrator I aircraft made a maiden flight in January 2001.
The LCA Demonstrator II first flew in June 2002.
The second Prototype Vehicle (PV-II) made a maiden flight in December 2005 and the third in December 2006.
The Indian government approved limited series production of 20 Tejas for the Air Force in April 2006.
First flight of the production aircraft was in April 2007.
Tejas is planned to achieve initial operating capability (IOC) in 2008 and enter service in 2011.


No comments: